Epiphany +2 (2014)

Epiphany +2 finalScripture for the week: Isaiah 49:1-7, Psalm 40:1-11, 1 Corinthians 1:1-9 and John 1:29-42

Epiphany +2 markerAbout the image: I decided to post as I go this week since I liked my first step. Quite simply, I used phrases from Isaiah and my dual tip markers to create this rough draft.

Epiphany +2 soft pastelsThis is the second step when I changed the arrow direction and added more of the idea of the light of the world. I like the way soft pastels blend and create shading instead of the sharp edges of the marker. After creating the dark edges, I used a mechanical pencil to sketch in the arrow shape. Then I added the yellow for light before using three purples to create the arrow. I used the sharp edge of the darkest purple to go over the pencil mark, then the narrow side of the medium purple, then side wide side of the lightest purple to fill in. I smudged the dark with my finger following the lines created, then blended them side to side to lessen the lines.

Final image (above): I like to play with paper dolls in Photoshop. I added Monster High’s Lagoona Blue head to a different body and then added wings to create a butterfly/dragonfly composite. I then print them out on tracing paper, attach to a light box with mixed media paper on top of it. I like to use watercolor pencils because they blend in a semi-controlled way. Then I added details with colored pencils. I added the doll and text in Photoshop.

Leave a comment