Advent 1 (2013)

Advent 1A final

Scripture for the week: Isaiah 2:1-5Psalm 122Romans 13:11-14Matthew 24:36-44

Advent 1A oil pastelsAbout the image: The left side is from soft pastels and words from Romans 13 that I wrote and then smudged together with my finger. The right side comes from an oil pastel image that I completely screwed up and decided I only liked the upper left corner, which I then flipped to be the lower right in the final. It was supposed to be something about lightness in the dark and darkness in the light. Colors were blended together using linseed oil.

Advent 1A pencilsThe stairwell draws on Isaiah and uses watercolor pencils with a bit of extra shading from colored pencils. I started with purple on its own, then colored half the next step with purple, blue on its own and half a step in green, etc., until I got to the bottom. Using watercolor pencils often eliminates the lines because when you brush the water on you can sweep across the drawn lines and create subtle shading.

All in all, the image does still play with light and dark that I was going for in the beginning.

Leave a comment